I’m late, very late. These cupcakes I am about to show you… were made on March 4. And today is the last day of April, yikes! I have to get better at this.

Handpainted Edible Game of Thrones Shields on White Chocolate Buttercream & Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cupcakes.

Handpainted Edible Game of Thrones Shields on White Chocolate Buttercream
& Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cupcakes.

I made some Game of Thrones cupcakes for my best friend, Fred’s, birthday. Actually, me and my old school buddy, Carolyn Spalding (whose amazing with cakes as well) kind of partnered up and made him a joint cake and cupcake pair of

Targaryen House Shiled from Game of Thrones as a cake

Targaryen House Shiled from Game of Thrones as a cake

birthday awesomeness. And Fred LOVED it. I made the cupcakes, Spalding (as she will be known as) made Fred a cake.

If you watch or have read Game of Thrones, then you’ll understand the photos. I had not gotten into Game of Throne’s as of yet when I made these cupcakes, in fact, I’m just now getting into it after a three hour conversation on facebook with Fred about it. Now, I appreciate these cupcakes even more that I know what the crests are. Ironically, the cake and the cupcakes I did my hardest to get right were Fred’s favorite house. Seriously, that’s ironic, because neither Spalding nor I knew that.

I’d like to say that I used some new and great recipe to make them, but instead I used my old favorite chocolate cake recipe, but hey, stick with what you know works when you’re in a bind, right? I had limited time by the time I got these crests painted, and I knew that Fred liked chocolate. I filled the yummy cupcakes with a peanut butter filling, which was also ironic because Spalding and I did not coordinate that, and she made a chocolate peanut butter frosting for the cake. Seriously, she and are just in tune or something, because we both came up with the idea as well. Anyway – they turned out awesome.

Game of Throne's cake and cupcakes

Game of Throne’s cake and cupcakes

I also used my favorite white chocolate buttercream recipe, the one called “The Only Other Frosting You’ll Ever Need” or something like that. I can’t remember, it’s saved in my recipe book as White Chocolate Buttercream. At any rate, Fred LOVED them, and that was all that mattered. Both of these recipe’s can be found in my “Sorry They’re Late Birthday Cupcakes” I made last year for my sister in November.

And also, I’m glad you had an awesome birthday, Fred, and that you loved your cake and your cupcakes, even if you couldn’t finish all the cake by yourself.

IMAG1263

Fred with his birthday cupcakes – he turned 25.

Alright, so what Spalding and I did was that we came up with the concept (actually, I suggested a Game of Throne’s cake, and Spalding came up with the idea of using the Targaryen house for the main cake, and for me to make fondant shields to put on top of the cupcakes), and then she baked and sculpted and frosted and fondanted her cake and drove an hour up to where I live up here near in the (way far) suburbs of Detroit. I wasn’t working at the time, so it made it very easy to find the time to make Fred’s cupcakes. Or shields, whatever. First I had to cut the shapes out, so that they all looked the same size, and I didn’t have anything to actually make into the shape, so I had to do it all by hand. Admittedly, I did take the easy way out and buy store made fondant – I know, I know. I didn’t trust my own fondant skills at that point, and my shoulder was still injured, I was trying to make it easier. Regardless, it worked out well, because store bought fondant seems to be stiffer, which is what I needed. So I hand cut all the shields and smoothed down the edges.

Game of Thrones Birthday Cake and Cupcakes

Game of Thrones Birthday Cake and Cupcakes

Then I had to look at all my food dye colors and decide what colors would work best on what shields. I couldn’t get all the shades perfect, like I wish I could have, but in the end, Fred was pretty thrilled, so that’s what counted. I had to hand paint every shield, and the one that I’m the least pleased with was “Greyjoy.” I wish I could redo that one. But it was one of the last ones I did, so I was kind at the point where you just go, “I just want to finish this already.” Not that that’s any excuse at all. But that one is MY least favorite.

My favorite, and Fred’s, was Targaryen. The three headed dragon shield. Awesome is exactly how those turned out. =)

Here are all the house shields that I had to handpaint myself – which took me HOURS. Not even kidding.

House of Targaryen

House of Targaryen

House of Baratheon

House of Baratheon

House of Stark

House of Stark

House of Lannister

House of Lannister

 

 

 

 

 

House of Arryn

House of Arryn

House of Greyjoy

House of Greyjoy

House of Tully

House of Tully

House of Frey

House of Frey

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time –

Jessi